Skip to content

The Vaiśeṣika Semantic Conception of Reality

Categories: Vaiśeṣika System
Wishlist Share
Share Course
Page Link
Share On Social Media

About Course

Vaiśeṣika identifies six categories it calls padārtha (word), guna (qualities), karma (activities), sāmānya (universal), viśeṣa (individual), and samavāya (inherence) as the essential ingredients of reality. In this course, we will discuss how these six categories initially form the basis of semanticism (when we treat them as six distinct categories) and then personalism (when we treat them as facets of a person). In that process, we will discover many synergies between Vaiśeṣika and the other five systems of Vedic philosophy.

Course Content

Vaiśeṣika Sūtra References

  • Sūtra 1.1.4
  • Sūtra 1.1.5
  • Sūtra 1.1.6
  • Sūtra 1.1.7
  • Sūtra 1.1.8
  • Sūtra 1.1.9

Vaiśeṣika and Semanticism

Student Ratings & Reviews

No Review Yet
No Review Yet